• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Need help deciding (sound card purchase)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kosay1991

Hi all :),

I'm kind of new to the audio scene and I need your assistance!

Being in love with music almost all my life and even going a bit into composing a few riffs here and there in my free time :), I have decided to jump on the high end audio bandwagon.

Having spent some money on audio hardware I figured the next step is getting a dedicated audio sound card and I found myself in a very strange place. If you ask me about video cards, CPU's, hard drives I am very knowledgeable but when it comes to sound cards my knowledge is extremely limited. I have absolutely no idea what to buy. I found this deal on newegg but I'm not sure if the sound card is any good (I found the convenience of a front panel appealing) or can I get something better with the money? I'm just looking for some advice :).

For some background onto how far I've gotten: I have sprung about 300-ish dollars on a decent 2.1 system (sub from polk audio, book shelf speakers from dayton and an amplifier) I still didn't indulge in a crossover though to control clipping in my book shelf speakers (trying to offload all the bass work to polk!)

PS: Please don't get biased or hot headed I'm just looking on some advice that is based on facts and proper explanations.

Last edited:
Best thing for recording is a good set of headphones. Lets you hear better than you ever could with speakers.

Forgot to add:
I'm purely using analog cabling which part of the main reason I started wanting to look into a new sound card since my mobo is creating very audible interference on my output

Best thing for recording is a good set of headphones. Lets you hear better than you ever could with speakers.