• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Opinions...quickly

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Daddyjaxx

I'm thinking about setting the beast up into one loop. I've never done this before, so I need to ask. Can you setup two reservoirs each with dual MCP35Xs into one loop? I want all the pumping power I can get. I'd just fill on the top res and wouldn't even turn on the pumps in res2 until it was full.

Here's the general plan.....

Res1--> CPU--> PCH--> VRM--> Top 480 rad--> 3 x 780TI in series--> Front 240 rad--> Res2---> through 2 or 3 480 rads, haven't decided yet--> back to res1. Or Res2---> Front 240 rad first.

No opinions that I don't need to w/c the motherboard. I know that. I WANT to. Technically, you don't HAVE to water cool ANYTHING. :)

Last edited:
Res1--> CPU--> PCH--> VRM--> Top 480 rad--> 3 x 780TI in series--> Front 240 rad--> Res2---> through 2 or 3 480 rads, haven't decided yet--> back to res1. Or Res2---> Front 240 rad first.

Wow! that's like trying to follow the wife through the mall man....confusing!
I'd say put a pump/res in front of each major restriction, then the lesser ones, then on to the next res in the chain. Like res1>CPU>motherboard blocks> couple of rads>res2>video trio> more rads> back to res1. It puts the pumps on opposite ends of the loop so to speak, and the cooling power where it's needed.
The rads will cool the water for the next section to take over.
Personally, it's only a couple degrees difference, if any, so you could run it whichever way that used the least tubing and the most direct path for the loop. I just dig symmetry, grasshopper. :)

Technically, you don't HAVE to water cool ANYTHING. :)

Them's fighting words, you know that, right? :D

Last edited:
Hey we are all computer nerds and this is nerd drag racing. :)