• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some pointers OCing a P4 3.0C!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kelly Keyboard

Registered
Firstly my specs:

P4C 3.0GHz
Abit IS7 Mobo w/ 24 BIOS
2x 512Mb OCZ PC3500EL (2-3-3-7)
OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU

Stock Cooling on CPU and N/B (w/ AS5 on CPU and N/B)

I’m not an absolute newbie when it comes to OCing (I OCed my old Barton 2500 to 2.2GHz and I’ve OCed my 9800 Pro plenty of times) but I do need some pointers on where to start.

Now I want to OC as far as possible on stock cooling (I don’t want to buy a new HSF). So what is a maximum safe load temp. for a Northwood P4 3.0GHz?

So should I even bother enabling this Abit game accelerator thing. My RAM can handle this setting when it’s on turbo but I don’t know what it does. Is this P.A.T? (like on i875 boards)

Also do I enable/disable/auto for Command Per Clock? What does this setting do?

Do I leave my RAM at default timings (2-3-3-7)

Should I leave my RAM in a 1:1 ratio?

Or should I leave the game accelerator on auto and just raise the FSB until my RAM is maxed out (or should I continue to OC and thus OC the RAM as well?) Would my RAM handel being OCed?

Also if it’s necessary to get a half decent OC I could swap this ram for 2x512Mb Corsair XMS PC37000 which I have lying around?

Thanks for any and all help in advance,
KellyK

The northbridge should be fine, they usually stay pretty cool. Depending on your chip, its hard to say how high you can overclock. Some people can hit 3.8ghz on stock voltage. The safest voltage, imo, for your stock heatsink is 1.575. For your ram, you should have 5 options. It should be set to AAADD.