• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build/Builder

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Carter333

Hey guys. Any ideas or help on this build would be appreciated. Im new to building a seriously gave a lot of thought to purchasing a pre-built system through Xidax and Digital Storm but decided to go the DIY route. Im currently awaiting parts to get started but figured id post my parts for any ideas. PC is mainly going to be used for gaming. IRacing and 1st person shooters mostly. The only problem ive ran into so far is the case I purchased does not have frontal 3.0 USB ports, and my mobo has a 3.0 header. Keep in mind this is a budget first time build, I have not yet purchased the GPU, OS, or Memory. So any ideas on changing anything is welcomed. Also Im aware that the PSU is overkill but I intended on getting a large enough one for future upgrades.

Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower
CPU: Intel Core I5 4690K Devils Canyon 3.5GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-G1 Sniper Z97 ATX
Memory: G Skills Ripjaws X-series 16GB DDR3
Video Card: MSI G-Force GTX 960 2GB
Storage: WD Black-Series 1TB 7200RPM
PSU: Corsair CX 750 Semi-Mod Bronze
Optical Drive: Undecided

Solid build, but you'll likely want a card with more VRAM. Also, if you're paying for the OS (ie, you don't own a copy already), no reason not to get 8.1. If you intend on overclocking, an aftermarket cooler might be a good idea as well. Last suggestion is to get an SSD for your boot drive and a few most common apps or games.