• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build Recommendations

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sathenzar

Hey everyone. This is my first post so hopefully I don't step on anyone's toes here by posting this. I am trying to build a new PC by the second week of Feb (hopefully before then) and I am looking for some input. I have around $3500 to spend.

My background: I am a software developer and I get into all kinds of stuff. I love building games with the unreal engine, Maya, and 3Ds MAX. I use Visual Studio 2017 Enterprise for all non-gaming related programming. I also like editing videos in Adobe Premiere and After Effects. In short, I do a bunch of everything and I love having cutting edge stuff when possible. I do like the idea of overclocking, but I can always build on that later so it's not a huge concern at the moment. The one thing I'm least likely to budge on is the CPU - I know I want an Intel Core i9-7920X Skylake X (unless intel has released another 12/24 processor that I am unaware of). Everything else is up for grabs.

I am transferring some of the hardware I currently own to this new build (I'll list that below), so I'm not quite building it from scratch - just close to it :)

I'm going to list each hardware component along with the items I've been looking at so far. Please feel free to recommend others, as these are just the ones that caught my attention while doing some research.

CPU:
Intel Core i9-7920X Skylake X 12-Core 2.9 GHz LGA 2066 140W BX80673I97920X Desktop Processor

Motherboard: