• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New calling 2080 Owners

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cajunjosh

So I'm new to water cooling but I've watched a TON of content from big names like JayzTwoCents on water cooling configurations.

I'm running a Ryzen 7 1800x and Asus DUAL RTX 2080 Ti. CPU is not overclocked, GPU power slider has been moved from 100% to 120% but the temperature numbers seem to be the same between both.

My loop:

Pump/Res Combo > GPU > CPU > Radiator > Radiator > Repeat

The Pump is a D5 with 300ml reservoir.
EKWB Water block for GPU
EKWB Water block for CPU
Radiators are Cool Stream XE 480mm x 60mm x2
8 Vardar 120mm SP fans in push configuration

Might be overkill but it was built to be.

So here is the question...

When I'm running an intensive game like Digital Combat Simulator with VR and an auxiliary air conditioner running in my room cooling room temps to around 18.8c I'm seeing some pretty hot temps from the GPU while the CPU is chugging along just fine at normal temperatures. At idle the GPU is running about 6-10ish Celsius above room temperature. When the load is removed from the GPU it cools very quickly which makes me wonder if that's normal behavior or an indicator the water block might actually be seated properly and doing its job.