• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Egg and Tax

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

trents

I see where as a non California resident I'm now getting charged for state tax when I order something from New Egg. Didn't realize it but they now have a physical presence in Washington state and have been expanding their operations to do the same in many other states as well, Canada and internationally as they have been bought out by a Chinese firm. This takes away most of my incentive to use New Egg for bigger ticket items and will likely cause me to shift more of my business to Amazon since if I'm going to pay state tax anyway I might as well take advantage of my Amazon Prime membership and get faster delivery. I'll still be looking for sales on NewEgg, however.

Also, what happened to the "Vendors" disscussion section that used to be on OC forums. Couldn't find it just now. Found it. Wasn't scrolling down far enough.

Last edited:
Hehe, I stopped buying from azmaon when I was back in Florida and they started charging taxes.

Same here. We have distribution warehouse for Amazon and newegg. Now I get taxed for both, but amazon seems to ship and arrive much faster. Only using newegg on rare occasion now. Tear.

Actually, sometimes Walmart has great buys on computer components! They sort of quietly eased into the market. And one day I discovered that I could buy computer components on Walmart. Imagine that! Next thing you know you be able to pick up a "super sized" motherboard at McDonalds with fries.

Yeah, totally forgot about that! Got on their website quite a while back and saw some rx 480's I think. Thought it was like a 3rd party market place thing. Is that still the case or are they selling them directly?

Oh he was serious!? I thought Sir Trents meant sarcasm when I reached for fries.