• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New overclocker here. Looking for advice on how to overclock my 9900k.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

crisis88m

Registered
Just built my second computer and looking for some help on how to overclock my 9900k.
I am a complete novice in overclocking. Also how did I do in building my second computer?
I hope I chose right with the GPU considering the monitor is a ultrawide 1440p 120hz badass.
This is all for gaming and eventually VR gaming. Some parts were carried over from my old system, built in 2013.
System specs are:

CPU > Intel 9900k
Cooler > Corsair H100i V2
Motherboard > Asus z390 ROG Maximus 11 Hero WIFI
PSU > Corsair AX860i
Ram > Corsair Dominator DDR4 8gb x2 @3200 MHz
GPU > GTX 680 Classified 4gb, being upgraded to a refurbished GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2080 DirectX 12 GV-N2080GAMING OC-8GC 8GB 256-Bit GDDR6 PCI Express 3.0 x16 SLI Support ATX Video Card from Newegg.
Storage > WD Black 1tb SSD NVME and a 250 gb Corsair SSD
Monitor > Alienware 34 Curved Gaming Monitor: AW3418DW
Case > Corsair Carbide Series 500R White Mid-Tower Case

Last edited:
Yes the 2080 should be able to drive your monitor.
When overclocking you always want to make incremental changes and test stability. You can read about the stability testing portion here: https://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/686655-Three-Levels-of-Stability-Methodolgy. Every CPU is different, so "plug and play" settings don't tend to get the best results. You can increase your multiplier gradually until it becomes unstable, then increase the voltage until it becomes stable, and so forth. Someone more familiar with this CPU can give you more details about BIOS settings and appropriate voltages.