• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New system - 3930k - are my tempratures too high? A little concerned.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Opt

Hi everyone.

Let me start off by saying that I'm fairly new to building a system, so my knowledge is a little limited and I apologize if this makes me come across as a little uninformed.

I recently put together my new system and so far it runs great. I haven't had the chance to really stress it, but for every day use and for gaming I haven't noticed any performance issues whatsoever. I have, however, been monitoring my GPU and CPU temperatures lately and I'm starting to wonder whether or not my CPU is staying within safe limits.

I have an i7 3930k. All 6 cores idle around 38-45 degrees C. Typically they're in the 40's but have been in the 30's and occasionally in the low 50's.

When I game, (not running the most intensive games, Valve's Left 4 Dead 2 at max settings) the temperatures rise to 60-65 degrees C, but eventually hit 72 degrees.

A friend suggested I run a prime95 test - noting that I should be able to run it for hours with no issues - within 30 seconds of running the test my core temperature program's numbers started to go "yellow" (assuming that's very bad) at 86/87 degrees C.

I have nothing special as far as cooling goes (no liquid cooling or anything like that). Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste. CPU cooler: Intel RTS2011 AC Thermal solution. Case: Coolermaster HAF 932 (with the fans it came with.)

Should I be concerned? Or are these temperatures to be expected with the level of cooling I have? I have not overclocked anything at all other than adjusting my ram speed to fit the XMP profile in the bios (the MB was reading it at 1333 even though the ram is rated at 1600. Setting the XMP profile fixed this.)