• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to OC - want some adivces

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MultipleParadox

-- Posting in General HW section as I am looking for general advices, not specific to GPU or CPU --

Hi all,

I've been owning that PC (custom) for a good 3 years now and just decided on trying to OC it to get more juice out of it, after having upgraded my GPU
I'd say I've been successful so far but I stayed quite conservative I'd say

Here's a comparison of stock vs current Oc'd settings; You can see some details about my hardware in there already (more details about this below):

http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/6338793/fs/6339977

I was wondering about how much more juice you'd think I could safely get out of this
And also, would adding an extra 8gb Ram would actually make a difference? (yes, running win10 64Bit)
This is primarily a gaming pc

To OC the CPU I simply used the automatic OC Tuner feature of the MoBo as I wasn't too sure about doing it manually. I read it wasn't the best way to OC but I felt safer doing that, especially since it literally takes seconds vs hours of tuning

Any advices/recommendations is more than welcome!

Thanks

--
(I dont have my actual OC settings' details on hand right now)
Hardware:
Asus Sabertooth Z77
Intel 3770k (base clock now at ~103mhz, 41x multiplier - I dont recall voltage)
-- Cooled by a Corsair H50
Evga GTX980ti ACX2.0+ SC+
2x4gb Kingston Ram. IIRC it's 9-9-9-27 - currently set to XMP profile, 1600mhz
Thermaltake TR2 700W PSU (or is it 750?)
OCZ Agility 4 256GB SSD

While running stress cpu test with my first OC attempt at 4.5ghz (stock voltage) I was reaching in the 80-82 degrees Celsius

IIRC, with the OC tuner settings at 4.2ghz, I was getting about 70-72C, maybe slightly more, while gaming (GTA V at max settings)