• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to Overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

teleformer

Registered
This is my first attempt at trying to OC, normally I say screw it and just buy new parts but money's a little tight right now. I've been trying to read up on how to OC correctly without fry'n anything but with all the options on my cheapo motherboard I get totally confused. I'm not sure if I've even seen a setting to change the HTT or not, and the ram settings I can alter are insane. I'm really just trying to get my CPU to go to around 2.5/2.7 I don't wanna go to high cause I don't have any watercooling or GREAT cooling for that matter. I just have your normal clip/screw on fans installed. I have 6 installed mind you, and all so the air flow runs from the front through the rear. If anyone could give me a couple of tips on OC'n this processor/motherboard combo I'd be grateful.

MOBO>-< N68-S UCC - v1.70
CPU & Cooler>-< AMD Athlon 64 x2 4200+/Rocketfish - Universal CPU Cooler
MEMORY>-< Transcend Information/JM800QLU-2G
POWER SUPPLY >-< Diablotek 750W
VIDEO CARD>-< Geforce 9800gt 1GB
HDDs/Optical drives>-< 2x250GB, 160GB, No CD-ROM
SOUND DEVICE>-< Onboard/VIA HD Audio
USB>-< Wireless Mouse/HP Keyboard/Afterglow Headphones
O/S>-<Windows 7 64bit
Case>-< ATX/5 installed fans with 2 more on the way
Display>-< 30" Westinghouse

Last edited:
I just went and read the first parts of this link >> Overclocking early AMD CPU, easy as 1, 2, 3. and the linked information seems pretty straight forward about that old cpu.
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=391768