• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to watercooling, Where to start?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

oghabib

Hello all, Im new to watercooling. I am considering running a watercooled setup for my rig as im having heat issues with 3way sli. I watched some videos on how to set up a water cooled system. Im interested in seeing which items and from which brands you guys would recommend for a setup. Looking for higher quality items.

Im running a
In Win S Frame
5960x
3way SLI Titan X

Thank you for any input :)

Sticky Thread Sticky: Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC *** READ THIS FIRST ***

Sticky Thread Sticky: The Ultimate Water Cooling Thread

Read it all twice and make notes.

Thanks guys, I've read the stickies. I was wondering which parts you would recommend for cooling 3 Titan X and what would work with my case.

Wow TBH I have not even had a chance to read what their TDP is ?

What CPU ?

Ultra Quite = 50 watts per 120mm

Medium quite = 75 watts per 120mm

Moderate = 100 watts per 120mm

loud IMO = 125 watt's per 120mm

insane = 150 watt's per 120mm

Please note, this assumes proper water flow

The TDP of the 5960x stock is 140 W BUT once you overclock look out! My 4.4Ghz with vcore set at 1.32 is estimated per PSU Calculator extreme to pull 248W!

I just ran Aida 64 Extreme stability test stressing all components with all my rad fans on high and my Kill A Watt meter was reading @770 W.

My twin D5s are set at level 4. Level 5 (max) would draw more wattage.

Personally, I'd spend some $$ buying a custom case (or even the Thermaltake Core X( I'm using) to allow for more rad space.