• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Video card, new block?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dr.Beer

Hello,

This is my first time posting, I am a semi-long time forum lurker, but now find myself needing to ask a question.

With the holiday seasons and a birthday, I've come upon some money to spend upon upgrading many things on my computer. After thinking about it and deciding, I've picked to upgrade the video card.

My current video card right now is a EVGA GTS 250.
It's being cooled with the Koolance GPU-200. this block has been doing it's job perfectly.

My current loop that I have is one that goes to the pump, to the radiator, to the CPU block and then to the video card block where it will fill into the reservoir and over again.

The radiator itself is being cooled by one fan pushing the air through it. This has been doing great so far and I've had no problems with cooling. Linky to Radiator.

Now to the juicy stuff. I've been thinking of either getting a GTX 460 or one of those new 6 series ATI. I am unsure which one yet. But my main question is do you think that water block would have trouble moving heat fast enough from the processor?
I my thoughts have been it shouldn't because the waterblock is still a tiny bit bigger than the specs on the GTX460's processor and should have enough surface area to cover the whole thing. I do not know if it has enough thickness in order to handle it. The 6 series is still something I need to look more into later this week, but it's something I would like some insight in if anyone has experience with that series.

Do you know of a 5 series that can do it and meets the same performance and price of a 460 and 6 series?