• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newb Ocer looking for advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rcole23

I am not one of those guys that just sits here and asks questions without trying to help my self first.

I just built this system, I am a computer tech and a gaming enthusiast (or I would not be posting here). Thing is I have never Over clocked before.

Here are my system specks.

Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Case
Intel Duo Core 2 now over clocked to 3.0gig
Seagate Barracuda 7200 2x80gig @160gig Raid Configuration
Antec 550 Watt Power Supply
Asus P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
Asus 8800 GTX Video Card DX10
OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 2GB (2x1024MB) Platinum Revision 2 XTC Dual Channel Kit 800 – 900 MHZ
Audigy Sound Blaster ZS Sound Card
Plextor DVD Burner
Optiarc AD-7170A DVD Burner
Fan Speed Controller x 4
Sony 3 ½ Floppy
Infinity Cpu Cooler
Cooling 3 x 120mm Fans, 1 x 92mm fan & 1 x Standard HiFlow Panasonic Fan
Logitech 5.1 speaker set
Logitech G7 Mouse
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Sceptre x20 widescreen monitor
Windows XP Pro.

I have three questions for the experts out there.

1) Do you see any weakness in this system? Things I should change? I spent a lot of time researching and bought accordingly.

2) I ran 3dMark 06 and received a 10692. I have never run it before but everything was awesome..except for the CPU even with this much OC. It seemed to bottle neck. Why? Or is this normal? Is this a good score?

3dMark.jpg

3) I am hitting an over clock barrier at 3.0 mhz. I have seen people take the e4300 to 3.47 mhz most commonly and sometimes beyond (but not by much and with very expensive ram 500.00 bucks +)