• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie here - Did I fry my intel i5-2500k?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jared80KA

Hey all -

So we all learn by making mistakes, and I'm pretty sure I made a big one while attempting my first OC. Here is my setup:

Intel i5-2500K
Gigabyte z68a-d3h-b3
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212+
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1600
EVGA GTX 560 ti

Before attempting the OC, I spent (what I thought was) a considerable amount of time reading guides and getting prepared. When I finally attempted it, everything in the BIOS looked good. EXCEPT when it came to setting the Vcore. Instead of an option to set vCore to 1.35, I had the Dynamic Vcore option.

I don't know what the hell I was thinking, but I initially set this to +0.3. Not +0.03, but +0.3. (I know now this should have been left to +0.00 and only increased if needed.) I saved, booted into Windows, and fired up HW Monitor and CoreTemp. With my board, HWMon showed voltages of 1.06 (which I also know now that this is the QTI value, not vCore). I don't remember what CoreTemp showed, but I didn't like it.

Seeing this, I rebooted into BIOS and saw that my voltage was 1.67! Yikes. I reset the BIOS to defaults, rebooted, and all levels were back to normal. I haven't tweaked them again.

I have used my PC a bit since this happened and haven't noticed anything out of the ordinary. But I know every guide I've read basically says 1.6v = instant death for CPU. And I was above that limit.

So here are my questions:
- Since my mobo uses Dynamic Vcore, and I was only logged into Windows for a minute and didn't stress test, is it possible my CPU didn't hit this voltage since it wasn't under heavy load?