• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie with aluminum system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

occamsblade

Registered
I am very new to this, but have been doing some reading. I am also a very curious soul that likes to understand what is going on. I obtained the computer in a raffle, so I did not get to research or pick the loop. I might eventually swap it to copper or take it out and air cool. I don't really overclock. For me, reliability lower sound level and not high maintenance are the three most important in my PC. Its not a perfect match. In fact, its had several issues, but it was a pre-release... so who knows. I do know that I need to learn how to flush it and refill it without making a mess... this last time was bad.

I have one of the powerspec EKWB systems with an all aluminum and acrylic loop. I am not sure what fluid I should run in it. It came the the EKWB coolant, and it gunked it up a little in less than a year. I used primochill dye, so maybe that played a role I don't know. I have been told no kill coils and no PT nuke. Any thoughts?

I am also curious. I have read that AIOs are generally aluminum, and require no maintenance. Would it be possible to run fluids longer on an aluminum custom loop? I have very little air in mine, usually about 2CC of air right at the top of the block where the port is. I could make a modification to reduce the air even further if needed.

Since you are new to water cooling I would highly recommend reading up as much as you can. Here is a good link of links if you will.