• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noctua NH-D14 fit in Thermaltake V3 Black?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bardolph

Registered
First time posting. I apologize if I missed stickies or searches that may have referenced my question, but here goes anyway:

I'm not an inexperienced system builder, but I'm relatively new to OC'ing. I recently pieced together a build for a new machine with the following specs:

Core i5-2500k (stock cooling for the moment)
8GB Corsair Vengeance DD3 1600(4gbx2)
ASUS P67 Mobo (model number is escaping me)
Thermaltake V3 Black case
Seasonic X750 PSU
EVGA GeForce GTX 260 (carry over from last build)

So just a few things:
I chose the PSU specifically because Seasonic rocks (or at least has for me for years) and for the modular build. This allowed me to justify buying the cheaper case - routing wires isn't a problem but still kinda meh. Airflow seems pretty good in the case (pictures will come soon).

I've stocked the V3 with the following fans:
3X - Scythe Gentle Typhoon -1450RPM (intake - front, bottom, VGA side panel)
1X - Scythe Slipstream - 1300 RPM (exhaust, rear)
1X - The stock fan that came with the case - probably crappy (exhaust, top)

Just for reference: Overall, my old video card seemed to struggle in the old build without the fans, and now it sits at load around 70 (still kinda high, but for how old the thing is and how much dust it's accumulated...I'm happy). Before the build, it would load around 90. This was much too high, I know, but this thing is a beast, and has stood up to some torture over the last 4 years.

So airflow certainly feels good in the case.

Stock temps at load in Prime95 appear to average between 70-75 (depending on the day). Not sure about the ambient temperature in the room, sorry.