• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Non Bios OverClocking? Asus software

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Overclocktopus

Hello everyone I have built my first computer and am faced with the problem of determining which route to go for overclocking. I have a AMD pheonom II x4 970 3.5ghz on a m4a88tdv-evo/usb3 mobo, on the side I have a cooler master v8 with many fans and Windows 7 32bit Ultimate. Also I got a radeon 5830 gpu. So thats my baby and I want to overclock it but not all the time. This is bought with my moms money and I don't want to drastically shorten the lifespan of the CPU. I was using the Asus software that came with it which is the overclocking utilty Turbo V. This has a turbo key that I can turn on when I need a burst of speed so it seems great. However I want to make that burst of speed 4.0ghz but the setting has to be applied first and when that happens everything freezes. Some people say its best to use Bios cause software OCing is garbage and to use BIOS but that is purmenant. The freezing cannot be overheating cause it never goes over 110F. Please advise me on how to do a toggling Overclock. Thanks!

For future reference, you should list temps as celcius. :)

So I'm going to make this analogy of how I understand it, if I'm wrong anyone, please please correct me. :)