• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oc 4690k resulting in HDD not showing up in windows

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dr.Snuggles

Hi,
As the title said I'm have issues with a Overclock on my CPU. I'm new at this but have done some research on overclocking on the i5-4690k and it seemed to be rather straight forward but the result varies between 4.0 to 4.8 Ghz.

My rig:
Motherboard: MSI z97-s02
CPU: I5-4690K
GPU: ASUS DUAL-GTX1070-8G
500 W on my power supply if that is relevant
16 GB ram

But to the issue.

After i've increased my voltade on the core to anything between 1.200 to 1.300 and my clock speed to anything between 4.0-4.5 Ghz I run in to a problem.
Should also note I dissabled the "Enhanced Turbo" setting in BIOS.

In the beginning of the Overclock, like the first day before I shut down my computer, the Overclock works perfectly with either of the setting I've talked about. But whenever I restart the computer after it's been off for a while it loads windows slowly and my oldest HDD doesn't get recognized by windows. Should also note that the HDD isn't the one with Windows 10 on.

Haven't found out a way to allocate the HDD in disk management and I've also set my energy alternativ to "HIGH PERFORMANCE" if that has anything to do with it. I should also note that the HDD in question is by far the oldest one and dates back like 11 years or so.

The Temperature on the CPU when playing taxing games goes between 60- 68 ish celcius.

So do anybody here know anything about my situation? Should I tweak my voltage? Should I ditch my HDD? Or is my CPU really low-end? Or am I missing a really basic thing in BIOS?

Happy for every opinion I can get cause I'm kinda stuck! :)