• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC'ed AMD Phenom II x4 965BE 3400 > 3800 (need some advice)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Axar

Registered
Hi,

I am an amateur in Overclocking, so any advice is +1 for me, thanks in advance for your patience and help.

As said in topic, i OC'ed this CPU trough BIOS, by increasing CPU Ratio multiplier to 19x, which resulted 3800mhz speed from 3400mhz, and it works as charm for now. Any other increase of CPU Ratio, even 19.5x (3900) resulting system fail to boot, or it boots but soon after screen goes black and I have hard reset.

Personally, I'm happy with 3800 (would like to see 4k, but that's life), just want to check here with you guys, should i change some settings in BIOS exept increasing CPU Ratio (i left everything else on auto mostly, as it was).

Benchmark test from silly Overdrive (I uninstal it, no worries), showed increase of my Computer performance after OC, which is fine i suppose.

After 1 hour of PRIME (blend), no errors, and CPU Core temperature was 63c.

My cooling is mostly Cooler Master fans, and my PSU is CM 750w.

If I need to post more information, please say.
Regards

Last edited:
:welcome: To OCF, Axar
As an amateur OC'er this guide will be very helpful for you, so have a read through. http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688663 It's everything you need to know about overclocking a PII. After you've had a read, try a stability test like P95 blend. While it is running have a program like HWMonitor free open on the desktop to monitor you temps. Keep the package/cores below 55c. After it has run 20 minutes take a snip and post it up here as well as CPU-z main, memory and SPD tabs. This way we can have a look at what is going on with your system.

:welcome: To OCF, Axar