• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking a AMD FX6100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cam198

Registered
I'm currently overclocking my FX 6100. I'm currently at 4.5ghz unstable. It'll boot into windows fine, but it fails the Prime95 blend test. This is my first time overclocking so I'd very much appreciate your feedback and advice.
Thanks in advance!:)

Attachments

• Capture7.PNG
    Capture7.PNG
    20.4 KB · Views: 37,990
  • Capture6.PNG
    Capture6.PNG
    24.9 KB · Views: 33,583
Here's some pics of my bios settings:

Attachments

• IMG_20120216_172617.jpg
    IMG_20120216_172617.jpg
    963.3 KB · Views: 33,019
  • IMG_20120216_172650.jpg
    IMG_20120216_172650.jpg
    969.5 KB · Views: 32,790
  • IMG_20120216_172713.jpg
    IMG_20120216_172713.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 32,677
for what it's worth, I am no expert at this, I'm learning as I go along so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I have tried six different ways from sunday to run stable @ 4.5ghz with lower voltages and from what I've noticed anything over 4ghz and the 6100 gets very hungry for more vcore.

by just using brute force and upping the multiplier here is what I have in regards to stable prime95. stable as in 6+ hours of running.

4.0Ghz 1.42 vcore
4.2Ghz 1.455 vcore
4.4Ghz 1.53 vcore (ran prime for an hour with this) it didn't error but i didn't want to run it at these voltages any longer.

now when messing with the HT and the north bridge my voltages under 4.0 go down a little bit. Even for 4.0ghz I can run prime stable at 1.40vcore. 4.2ghz I'm again stuck with 1.455vcore.

If I had some extra money to buy another 6100 or an 8120 I would totally up the voltages just for the sake of posting the results.

Just my $0.02 of my tests over the past 2 weeks. All cpu's aren't the same and mileage will vary.