• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking a Q9650

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sorenalike

Registered
Hey everyone

I recently overclocked my cpu to get some juice to my graphic card because i noticed its bottlenecking my graphic card in some cases ( games etc )

I am a beginner in overclocking so i have few question and i hope to get some answers

First i went to bios and tried a few suggested Vcore voltages and configs in internet to see what can i do with it but i stuck on 400x8.5 and i can't go higher prime9 program crashes himself and OCCT finds errors ( but system looks stable )

i was hoping to reach atleast 3.6ghz can you guys help me with this ? please

btw my vcore voltages is on auto + everything else on 3.4ghz

my limits : i dont wanna overclock my ram

btw overclocking to 3.4ghz made no difference in temps

max temps reached with prime9 after a hour : c0 64c c1 57 c2 61 c4 62
max temps reached with OCCT after a hour : c0 57c c1 52 c2 54 c4 56

cpu-z shows vcore around : 1.248 - 1.256

Am i doing fine atm ? i dont really want to burn my system down :D

i need some help to get it to 3.6

Thanks

Last edited:
i was hoping to reach atleast 3.6ghz can you guys help me with this ? please

btw my vcore voltages is on auto + everything else on 3.4ghz

my limits : i dont wanna overclock my ram
First, get it off auto voltage for vcore!

Second, you may not want to overclock your ram, but, you may be doing so because of how overclocking on that platform works. In order to help you though, we need more information...

Please post screenshots (host them here, not 3rd party please) of CPUz. The first tab, memory, and spd tabs please.

First, get it off auto voltage for vcore!