• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking memory caused GPU error?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OverclockingNub

Hey guys,

I just built my second computer, so I am still relatively new to this. Anyways, to save money I decided to keep my old Radeon HD 4870 graphics card, while only purchasing a new mobo, ram, cpu, and case. Anyways, i decided to purchase the MSI 970A-G46 AMD 9 Series Motherboard due to the fact that it was on sale, and really cheap, AND it was the only budget mobo that seemed to support the 2133 MHz ram frequency. So, first thing i did after booting up the computer was open up the bios to overclock the ram to 2133 because apparently it defaults to 1600 or something. Anyways, for whatever reason I could only increase it to 1800. 2133 was not an option. But, i decided that was still better than 1600 and would do for now.

So, upon restarting my machine, my graphics card lit up (3 red lights) and and failed to display anything. I figured this may be due to the fact that upon overclocking the ram, my weak 500W psu couldnt power the 125W cpu, and the 220-ish W gpu, and the now OCed ram (if the gpu is not plugged into the psu at all, but it is plugged into the mobo, it gets these 3 red lights, so i figured it was a power issue). So, i decided to buy a brand new 750W psu, and i still have the same problem.

While waiting for the new psu to arive, i took out my graphics card and threw it in my old case with my old mobo, ram, and 55W processor. It worked perfectly fine. So i know that the problem is not with the graphics card, and probably not the psu (im quite sure 750W would be enough to run everything... especially since 500W ran everything to begin with).