• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking my Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PetrolHead

First things first, this is what I'm working with:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE
GPU: NVidia GTX 650
MB: ASRock 970M Pro3
RAM: 2 x 8 GB Kinston HyperX Fury Black DDR3 (official numbers 1600 MHz CL10, stock values 1333 MHz CL9 due to Phenom II)
PSU: Cooler Master V650S
HDD: Samsung 850 EVO SSD 250 GB
Case: BitFenix Prodigy M
CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer A11
Fans: 2 x BitFenix Spectre 120 mm
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit & Linux Mint 17.2 Cinnamon 64-bit

Although I've been using computers since 1986 this is the first computer I've tried to overclock, partially because this is my first own desktop computer since the early 00's. This particular machine I obtained a couple of months ago. I was on a pretty tight budget, but luckily a couple of friends wanted to get rid of some parts at a very reasonable price and so I ended up with the Phenom II and GTX 650. Of these two only the GPU could be considered a bottleneck for my needs, and even if I went out and got a GTX 980 I wouldn't have to worry about the CPU wasting its talents. So, there was really no need for me to try overclocking. However, it was something that I had wanted to try for a long time and since a modern BIOS/UEFI makes it very easy, I decided give it a go. However, there were some limitations from the start:

-I have a mini ATX case, which means there's less space for a proper CPU cooler.
-The current CPU cooler is no more efficient than the stock cooler, only quieter.
-Running Prime95 in max heat mode for about 20 minutes brings my socket temp to 68 degrees Celcius (see picture) even at stock speeds (70, if the room gets warm from running Prime95).