• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking on ASUS P4C800-E

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

murphyld

Hi, I'm new to overclocking and I'm not sure about a couple of things.

I have on old P4 3.2EE box that I used for software development in the past and I've started using for Folding@Home.

I was running 4* 512MB of value RAM and using the 'AI overclock tuner' set to 10% and getting 3.52Ghz stable OC.

Now I'm using 2* 1GB OCZ EL DDR PC3200 Platinum XTC. The highest stable setting that will run the F@H utility stresscpu2 is 3.58Ghz. I would like it to be higher but it needs to be able to pass stresscpu2 so that I get good F@H results. Can I realistically/possibly get a stable setting at around 3.7 or 3.8? The Zalman flower heat sink is doing a great job, the CPU temp currently doesn't get over 43°C/109°F.

Now that I'm setting the BIOS OC controls manually I have found two different ways to get a stable 3.58Ghz and I would like input from more experienced overclockers as to what is the best option.

In the BIOS the setting 'DRAM Frequency' has these options: AUTO, 266, 333, 400. If I set it to AUTO I get a stable system with memory settings 2-3-2-5 and the DRAM Frequency is system set to 266. If I set the DRAM Frequency to 400 I have to set the memory to 2.5-3-2-6. Does either pose an advantage or is it like "six one way and a half dozen the other"?