• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking + unlocking Athlon 445 issues, high temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

peter2525

Registered
Hello,

I am new to overclocking and i am having some problems when trying to overclock my athlon 445 x3 (but also after unlocking 4th core).

1.When i set my CPU freq to 215Mhz i get this message when system is booting: warning !! now system is in safe mode please re-setting cpu frequency in cmos setup. This message dissapeared after i set + 0,025V on CPU voltage, but also +0,05V on DRAM voltage otherwise i would get the same error message, also set other multipliers like HT and NB to lower/stock speeds. Only getting this message after restarting the PC, if i shut down the PC and then power on there is no problem with booting. Is it possible to overclock with this MB gigabyte m68mt-d3?

2.Temperatures with stock 3 cores prime95 large FFT: all 3 cores 37°C

After unlocking the 4th core (not overclocked just stock settings) temperatures were pretty high
idle temps:
all 4 cores 57°C

TMPIN0 28°C
TMPIN1 31°C
TMPIN2 28°C

prime95 large FFT for about 2h15min (i know its not long enough to make sure if its stable) no errors:
all 4 cores 78°C

TMPIN0 39°C
TMPIN1 56°C
TMPIN2 49°C

Are those CPU temperatures accurate? I restarted PC when running prime95, right before restart all cores were 78°C, then i went into BIOS as fast as i could (10 secs) and system temp was 40°C and CPU 38°C. Do you think its possible to drop from 78°C to 38°C in ~10 seconds or are those temperatures in HWmonitor not correct? I am using shadow rock lp cooler because of small case.

Thanks

A bi-product of unlocking disabled cores is the temp sensor becomes incorrect. This is a known fact. Best I can tell you to estimate temp is to add 10c to your temp when you're not unlocked.