• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overlocking A6-3670K And OCCT

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Locknload

Registered
Hello guys, new guy here. My name is Erick.

I come to you seeking advice and answers that I haven't been able to find regarding a couple of subjects.

First of all. I own an AMD A6-3670K that runs stock at 2.7GHZ.
I wanted to try overclocking it since I started playing FSX, and it's a CPU intensive simulator, so I read that increasing your clock would increase FPS.

I ran ATI's autotune that comes with it's Catalyst Control Center, the program took the CPU up to 3.5GHZ before getting a blue screen. I promptly restarted my computer, and set the new clock to 3.2 Ghz, I haven't had a crash since. I didn't make any stress test whatsoever, but it's been 2 days, and everything seems good.

I inquired about raising my clock, and how raising the voltage could lead me to clocking to a higher speed, and I was recommended to run OCCT to check for current stability, temperature, etc..etc...

However, upon opening OCCT the system information/cpu tab showed that my current clock speed was 2.7Ghz which is stock, and that my original was 3.2. Core Temp shows that my current speed fluctuates from 2.4 to 2.7 to 3.2. And CPUZ shows it constantly at 3.2

When I ran OCCT for 20 minutes first, the max speed was stuck at 2.7003mhz, and the temperature was 63.50. I really don't understand what exactly is going on, and what it means when OCCT shows my current speed at 2.7 I thought I had overclocked this thing?

What should I do?

Thanks for your time, please ask for any information you need about my system, I will provide screenshots if needed.

I would trust whatever CPU-z is reporting as your speed to be correct. If it says 3.2, then you are at 3.2.