• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Phenom II x4 3.4ghz 965BE + ASRock 960GM OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chronei

Newbie here. I've read countless "in theory" situations and understand that everyone's different. I know that upping the fsb increases EVERYTHING and multiplies everything even more. I also understand that a BE is supposed to be easier to overclock with. But all in all, all BIOS "wording" is different, and I am royally screwing up somewhere and can't even where to find fsb. Is that "CPU frequency [200]"?? I keep seeing it default at 200 in guides.. /shrug

It is told that my CPU, even by stock fan, can OC easily from 3.4 to 3.7 no problem. I tried even doing 3.6 and got blue screen or a freeze ! Unbelievable! But again, I am a complete OC newb minus what I've read in the guides.

Anyway, I tried to do it on my own using wprime (not even sure what the difference is between 32m test and 1024m test (I do 32m for 30 mins and do 1024m overnight from what I can see?).

SO, here we go:

CPU: Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4ghz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727

Mobo: ASRock 960GM/U3S3
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157323

RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233170

Aftermarket HSF: Cooler Master Hyper N520
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001NJ0D0Y/ref=pe_175190_21431760_M2T1_ST1_dp_1

Case *NEW*: Apevia X-QPACK2 Aluminum MicroATX Case (replaced stock PSU with 850w)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811144144