• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Phenom X4 955 BE Overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jnb22019

Registered
Complete noob here.

I've been reading around on how to overclock my 955 but I still feel somewhat lost and I don't want to make a big mistake and damage my hardware.

I'm not looking to get to the 4.00 range. I am looking for 3.5 to 3.8.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• Capture1.PNG
    Capture1.PNG
    31.1 KB · Views: 104
  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    20.5 KB · Views: 107
  • Capture2.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    19.5 KB · Views: 106
  • Capture3.PNG
    Capture3.PNG
    22.4 KB · Views: 103
  • Capture4.PNG
    Capture4.PNG
    19.4 KB · Views: 93
First, go into bios and disable the "green" stuff: Turbo Boost, Cool N Quiet, and C1E. (Whoops! You won't have Turbo since you are working with a Deneb core CPU, not a Thuban).

The next think you should do would be to check "core" and CPU socket temps at stock frequencies and voltages to get an idea of how much overclocking headroom you have.

If you haven't already, then download and install HWMonitor and Prime95. Open HWMonitor on the desktop first. Leave it open while you run a 20 minute Prime95 blend test. When done, post back with attached pics of the HWMonitor interface so we can see what the max temps were.

Also, please give more information about your hardware:

1. Are you using the stock cooler that came boxed with the CPU or are you using an aftermarket cooler? If the latter, what is the make and model. Good cooling is essential for good overclocking.
2. Make and model of case and some info about fans. How many intake and how many exhaust fans and how large are they? Good case ventilation is critical to keeping temps down when overclocking.
3. Make, model and wattage of PSU.