• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Phenom X4 965 BE Overclocking Advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ReardenX

I have a Cooler Master EVO 212 and Artic 5 Thermal Paste for the CPU

I currently have it Overclocked to 3.8 ghz at a voltage of 1.3625 with temperatures of the cores around 54-57 C while playing planetside 2.

Are these figures good or do they need to be changed for protection of hardware?

The core temp is already maxed out and you should not be getting temps that high with that cooler on that small amount of voltage. Some questions:

1. How good is your case ventilation? Unexpectedly high temps can be caused by poor case ventilation. That is, hot air is building up inside the case and is not being extracted fast enough. Thus, you are trying to cool with hot air. How many intake and how many exhaust fans do you have and how large are they? You might try taking the case side off and see if temps fall.
2. What is your CPU socket temp running? If you will use HWMonitor it will give both core and CPU socket temp plus a ton of other useful info about temps and voltages.

My case has very poor ventilation then. Large wires from my power supply might be insulating it.

CPU temp on HWMonitor is hovering around 58-59.

Do you recommend opening the case up?

Tucking cables and wires out of the way that might be obstructing airflow can help but is no substitute for having plenty of fans moving air. Yes, I am saying if you want to test the theory that poor case ventilation is a culprit in excessively high temps then take the side panel off and test temps with the case open. Here is a picture that shows what good case ventilation looks like (air is being vigorously moved from front low to back high):

Attachments

• case ventilation.JPG
    case ventilation.JPG
    42.4 KB · Views: 58