• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Possible to swap video card on Dell Vostro 1500

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

g0dM@n

Inactive Moderator
So I have the 1500 with the 8400M GS video card... it's actually pretty nice for a stock 128mb card that comes with the system... BUT... I'm thinking about returning it to get the 8600M GT... though I'm not entirely sure.

Could I wait and then upgrade the video card myself? I have SOME experience with laptop hardware, but nothing crazy like with desktops... would I be able to upgrade my vcard cheaper myself and is it possible? Thanks.

I would also like to know, because i know it doesnt have the option when configuring it.

JamesXP said:
I think you can but heat issues might occur AND AND they're like expensive.
so a vostro with the 8600 is designed differently??

man i need to know ASAP... my 30 days is coming up...

Well what dell has typically done in the past is to put a mxm type slot on the laptops with dedicated video cards. This allowed some to upgrade/change out video cards. Unfortunately I do not know for sure if it is modular, but I would guess it is. I searched notebookreview.com and notebookforum.com and couldn't find any info on it, but it would be wise for you to post on one or both of them.
If you can upgrade it, I don't think you'll find one for a few months. How much did you pay for your 1500 and with what specs? They go on sale all the time, you may be able to get one with a 8600 for a lot cheaper then trying to do it all your self.

custom90gt said: