• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pre-owned hardcore (LN2) overclockers motherboard for everyday use?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

aardtyllyf

Registered
Sup guys,
I am new to OCF as a poster, but was reading this board for quite a while now.

I have a killer deal to buy a pre-owned motherboard, which was used only in two short bench overclockers sessions by a well-known comrade.
This motherboard was used in two LN2 CPU overclocks of Phenom II up to 6+ GHz and then resting in the box for quite a while.

What i want to know is would i have any problems with this motherboard if i use it on stock values for 24/7 non-intensive work or that board is wasted due to degradation of mosfets and power-lanes?

Thanks in advance for your input and time.

ps: Hope to stay on OCF for a while.

Last edited:
FYI this is OCF (OCForums), OCN is a different site...

That said, as long as the person took care of the board and insulated everything properly (and it still works) then it should be fine. I haven't had any issues using boards that i have taken cold or haven't heard any complaints from anyone I have sold to.

Ooops, was writing that post sleeping, sorryz. ^_^
So as the story goes, if the board works and no visual damage could be seen - everything is ok and i can use it with no worries?
I ve heard that due to high temps even motherboard copper layers could be dammaged, or power lanes which are all over the mobo. Is that right?

I think a quick test of said board is in order....conjecture is just conjecture, the ONLY way to be sure is fire up the board and stress it a bit, if there are any problems, they will surface immediately, seller should be agreeable to this...