• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems OCing E6400

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sailing_Nut

Registered
Hi,

I'm new to OCing and I'm having some problems.

I followed the C2D OC plst I found on here, but I can't even gey my CPU to be stable at 300MHz FSB. From everything I read my platform should be ideal for OC (E6400 and Abit AB9 Pro Mobo) but it seems to refuse to work with me.

Has anyone else seen a similar problem with an AB9 Pro or E6400 and if so did you find a resolution for the problem?

If it happens to be just a bum CPU that isn't ripe for OCing that's fine, I just want to be certain it's not something that I can overcome.

FYI, I used the uGuru OC panel in the BIOS and set the FSB to 300 MHz. I tried a couple of different settings for the NB, but nothing would run stable. I thought it was a RAM issue so I tweaked it so that my RAM was clocked as t's rated, but no luck.

I kept getting a blue screen in win32k.sys if that provides any insight as to what might be going wrong. (OS is Win7 ultimate x64)

If you need any more information please let me know. (I admit I was a bad citizen & didn't read rules on posting before doing this, please forgive me! I owe all that help out a :beer:)

What's the make and exact model of RAM installed, including the quantity? Also post pic's of CPU-Z open to the Memory and SPD tabs w/ the FSB at 300MHz.

Thanks for the reply!

RAM is not branded. 2x512MB and 2x 1GB. It's cheapie stuff and it could be the source of problems. However, I am clocking it at it's rated frquency and still no luck.

The OS is not stable enough to post pics of CPU-Z with FSB @ 300MHz.

I attached pics of CPU-Z with stock clocking (I included one of each of my pairs of RAM from the SPD page)

Attachments

• CPU-Z main.jpg
    CPU-Z main.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 151