• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[Q] Guide to OC AMD FX-8320 with Asus Crosshair Formula-Z

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

fnaticiNsi

Hi all,

Since I'm new to overclocking and need some things to learn I'm gonna ask my question here.

I want to overclock my cpu so that it runs on at least 4.0 ghz (standaard 3.51 ghz)

Also when I check my bios my memory only runs at 1600 mHz when it can run at 1866. How can I change the settings so it runs at 1866??

Below are my specs:

MOBO: Asus Crosshair Formula-Z
CPU: AMD FX-8320
MEM: G.skill 2x4GB, DDR3, PC14900, CL9, XMP, Sniper
GPU: SAPPHIRE R9 290

Let me know if I'm missing some specs. I hope someone can help me with this.

Thanks in Advance.

What are you cooling the Cpu with?
Here is a guide on a Gigabyte board, no it's not the same BIOS but it will give you a general understanding of what is required of you when overclocking. After you read it download prime 95, hwmonitor "non pro" and cpu-z. Then open hwmonitor and run prime 95 blend for 20 minutes. Watch your temps, if the cpu temp goes above 70 or the package above 62 stop the test. Then post screen shots of Hwmonitor and the following tabs in Cpu-z, cpu, spd and memory, using the in forum attachment tool. Here's how.

What are you cooling the Cpu with?
Here is a guide on a Gigabyte board, no it's not the same BIOS but it will give you a general understanding of what is required of you when overclocking. After you read it download prime 95, hwmonitor "non pro" and cpu-z. Then open hwmonitor and run prime 95 blend for 20 minutes. Watch your temps, if the cpu temp goes above 70 or the package above 62 stop the test. Then post screen shots of Hwmonitor and the following tabs in Cpu-z, cpu, spd and memory, using the in forum attachment tool. Here's how.

I'm using this Cooling: