• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question about OC Intel i5 8600K

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EladFlopsi

Registered
Hello everyone!

I am new to OC and this forum, so please be easy on me!
I know some questions will be repetitive, so i am apologizing in advance :p

I am rocking this CPU with Asus Maximus X Formula, and Ripjaws V 16GB and CPU Cooler of Thermaltake water 3.0 ARGB.

1. Should I try automatically to push to 5GHZ without testing if I have a good enough chip?
2. Which voltage should I test first, second etc?
3. When I tested the OC first (just to know that it works) I had an issue (or this is how it rolls) that the CPU runs always on the GHZ that it was assigned, its not like it has idle working GHZ and then it boosts like the CPU does regularly. Is there any way to set it up that only when I game (or the CPU needs it) it will boost to the configuration given?
4. When I tested I had this thing that it was working on the GHZ that I setted (4.8) and when I stress tested it dropped t 2GHZ, the CPU temp was a lot, because my cooler is **** probably because it was old (not the TT, it is coming in the next few days). The temps could cause this drop or is there any things else I should pay attention to?

If you have any screenshots of an Asus motherboard (I looked online, not so many things that I could really use) for educational purpose I would be very grateful!

Thank you a lot!

Hello everyone!

I am new to OC and this forum, so please be easy on me!
I know some questions will be repetitive, so i am apologizing in advance :p

I am rocking this CPU with Asus Maximus X Formula, and Ripjaws V 16GB and CPU Cooler of Thermaltake water 3.0 ARGB.