• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

QUESTIONS

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

quovadis

Registered
Hello all
I am a first time pc builder and a first time over clocker. I used the Ai suite 3 on an Asus z490 prime A motherboard with an intel i7 10700k to overclock the cpu. Actually i Used a feature called 5 way optimization. I was sweating I was so nervous.

questions
1. There are so many ways of overclocking, The bios, Ai suite has two ways, the Ai tuner and the 5 way optimization. Then you have that extreme tuning facility...which do I use first?

Question 2
I used the 5 way optimization and now my cpu is at 5 ghz as opposed to stock (3.8).
I do not feel comfortable, so i went back into Bios and pressed F5 then f10, and rebooted. I am still at 5!! I want to go back!!
After rebooting 10 times it's still at 5...

I wrote to Asus and they started telling me I have to perform surgery on the case, and put metal pins or connectors into some god forsaken place, pins and short something or other? Then plug computer in hold for 5 seconds etc etc...
This sounds very intimidating. I want to make sure it's not a madman who wrote me with these antiquated and ridiculous proposals?

Cant these Asus people simply put a button somewhere? Or a click of the mouse in Ausus Ai suite 3 to revert to default clock? Am i missing something? Its can't be so complicated?

thanks