• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[REQ] Overclocking - CPU(AMD Phenom II x4 945) + MOBO(ASUS M4A79T Deluxe)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

5n4p

Registered
Hello,

=- My Rig -=
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 945
Code:
http://products.amd.com/pages/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=534&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=&f11=&f12=

MOBO: ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Code:
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A79T_Deluxe/#specifications

and for the record I am running liquid cooling.

Now my rig is pushing 3-4 years old at this point and I have always been against oc'ing, but from what I have been reading it looks like the scene has developed quite a bit! and I feel it's time for me to jump in.

Now since I'm a novice obviously I dabbled with TurboV and AMD OverDrive(automatic software overclocking - don't hate) - which pushed the processor to 3.3ghz and that was unstable for long periods of use. (temps stay within 35c => 45c)

When I looked at the settings I realized the "automatic" overclocking software just pushed the FSB up to what it considered "stable" (220mhz) - it didn't even touch the voltages or anything else...

In the case where a 3.3ghz OC is acting up - would it be correct to increase the CPU voltage slightly?

My OC settings currently:
FSB: 220mhz
CPU Voltage: 1.4
CPU Temps: 35c(idle)-45c(prime95)
and it still crashes within 10 mins of Prime95.
Sometimes even prime95 itself crashes and the computer pulls a BSOD with a memory management issue.

Now this brings me back to my board which apparently is well suited for overclocking... which leaves me with my RAM as a potential culprit -.-

Remind you, when I bought this thing years ago I really didn't care for overclocking (oddly enough I had an overclocking build because I knew I would want to get to it "eventually" and here I am).