• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Rogue Temp and Fan??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Muscleburn

This is the first time I have overclocked my home built PC. I have been building them for over 20 years and only now I get round to overclocking. I have done a CPU multiplier OC with good results, stable @4.6Ghz and CPU 1.356v from 1.32v, but I get what I think is a rogue temp that HWMonitor says is my CPU, I stopped pushing OC after temp got to 69C. My CPU temp in speedfan, corsair link and Open Hardware Monitor say otherwise, they all correlate to the same reading, which is the CPU is 55C.

My question is therefore, what is this Temp 1 and why is it so much hotter than the rest of temp readings. Speedfan reports it as - Temp 1, HWM - CPU, Corsair link - MB Temp 1, Open Hardware Monitor - Temp 1.

Temps as far as I can work out,

CPU - 55C
H100i - 48C
Temp 1 - 69C???
MB Temp 2 - 30C
GPU - 35C

OK, thats the not so wierd bit out of the way as Im sure there will be a reasonable explanation for the rogue Temp.

The rogue fan, SpeedFan says its the second Fan 1, HWM - CPU Fan, Corsair Link - MB Fan 1 and Open Hardware Monitor - Fan 1.

There is 4x ~150mm fans under the control of speedfan and linked to the rogue temp. As well as the 2 fans from H100i and 2x ~75mm side fans. The Latter 2 sets of fans were disabled physically and the 4x 1500mm chassis fans were disabled with speefan. As all the fans powered down visually as well as audible, I noticed the rogue fan was still at the same RPM ~2300. All fans stopped, but as far as all the monitor programs were concerned there was a fan spinning, still @~2300.