• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Rookie budget HTPC build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pauliedanger

Hello everyone. First post, and I'm hoping to get some advice on a HTPC build I'm working on.

I've swapped parts in computers before, but this will be my first soup to nuts build, so I want to make sure I won't be running into any unnecessary surprises.

The goal is for the pc to be under $700 (before rebates) and be 3D ready.

I'm staying in the 1TB HDD range, but will probably add one or two external HDD's as needed.

I'll be using it mostly to watched stored videos and playing games off an emulator, but I'll also be using it for live TV.

I want to use Unbuntu, I've never used any Linux platform before. Will probably use Mythbuntu for the front end.

This is what I'm looking at buying. If you see any issues, or things that I obviously missed. By all means.

Mobo: MSI H61MU $75
CPU: i3-2100 dual-core $120
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB $49
HDD: HGST 1TB 7200RPM $100
Case: Apevia X-Qpack w/ 420w PSU $80
CPU Cooler: Zalman $45
DVD drive: Liteon $17 (I'll be using my PS3 for the rare BluRay disc)
TV Tuner: Hauppauge WinTV $65
Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse $40
Other: Media Center LCD screen (5.25" bay)

I'm also getting a tool set since I haven't worked on a desktop in a while (I've been a laptop guy for a couple years now).

My questions, if you've gotten this far are:
Is there anything else I need to get (cables, thermal compound, or whatever)?
Are there any equivalent but cheaper parts that I can get to shave some money?

Thanks.

Looks good overall, and the tv card has linux support in the kernel. My only real concern is that that PSU that comes in the case might not be the best. Do you know what model and brand the psu is?