• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ryzen 1700 Overclock Bios = Underclock Windows

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

depecid

Hi all,

Newbie here with an OC issue with my brand new Ryzen 1700.

I finished my build last night, Ryzen 1700, Gigabyte x370 Aorus Gaming 5, Corsair LPX3000, etc.

XMP works fine, sets the memory to 2934 and boots no problems.
I also managed to OC the cpu to 3900 at 1.35v using Ryzen Master within windows.

However, when i try and simply change the multiplier to 39 in bios, and set the voltage to 1.35, when i boot into windows the cpu is stuck at around 1500mhz.
CPU-Z and Ryzen Master both confirm this. Ryzen master also shows the voltage as 1.00. Stressing the cpu doesn't change this, and the temps stay very low.

To me it seems as if it's stuck in a low power state or something? Does anyone have any clue to what might be going on? I tried some google searches but nothing comes up.

I also tried the little OC button on the motherboard, but it wont even boot into windows.

Any ideas are appreciated, cheers!

I had something similar when I first used Ryzen Master. I had to uninstall it and first try the clear CMOS if that doesn't work you might need to reflash the bios

Thanks for the tips, i'll give that a whirl and see how i go.

I had another issue while playing around with xmp where enabling it stopped doing anything, even it bios it wasn't switching from 2134 to 2943 anymore. Had to reset to defaults and after that it worked again.
Seems like the issues aren't 100% sorted yet.

Well alot of that depends on your parts. Ryzen id kinda picky about the ram you use. Why don't you create a sig with your build. Reverting to stock is normal when the changes in BIOS don't take