• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Secure Erase is not secure

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ivy

Shocking stuff what i read on that german site. The article isnt that old, few months only and does include actual generation it seems.

http://www.gamestar.de/hardware/ssd...sie_daten_auf_ssds_richtig,355,2482970,2.html

The issue is, even after using secure erase or many other overwritte tools, there is still many data previously stored still visible, especially on a SSD. Its even harder to completly erase on them than on HDD they say. I cant personally judge because im not a expert at such stuff but i feel kina shocked reading this. Since i do in no way want to give my data out of my hand in term i have to use warranty (i just dont know whats gonna happen with). Old plater im first gonna overwritte with 0 and 1,and then im gonna destroy it physically because there is simply no accurate way to get ride of it, there is always signs of old data. The only secure way is truly
, simply no joke even if it looks like. Or simply personaly throw a drive inside a incinerator, then its 100% deleted. But i didnt know that a SSD is even more insecure, that article is shocking and it does aswell verify my issues i had, that they in fact, even as a secondary drive, cause instability of the OS, because of stored bits which is hard to get ride of. Only when the power cable or PSU is shut off, it can be taken out.. in many cases. And only the "upper surface".

I try to find english stuff, but the most important infos are always rare on the net. Most is simply nonsense and guessing.