• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Successful air duct install - my short story

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sirsloop

Registered
First I'd like to say thanks for great articles posted up on the site here. While a lot of them are dated, the principals are the same as far as cooling.

Ive been using a supermicro sc750 case for a number of years now. It started life I believe with a P3 like idk...4-5 years back and has evolved a number of times since. The latest setup was a Thermaltake 480W PS, P4C800-Deluxe running a P4 2.6Ghz 800fsb NW, 2GB kingston ram, geforce fx5900 Ultra, and a collection of 7 HD totalling just under 1TB. All the other usual's...etc. I've been using this setup for a couple years I think... I got the 2.6Ghz NW chip right when the 3.0Ghz NW was released.

This all started about a month back when one of my hard drives started making a funny high pitched noise. I knew it was on the outs and needed replacement. Newegg had a killer deal on Seagate Barracudas - 750GB for $230 so I picked them up. While I was looking at hardware I noticed the 3.4E's were selling for $133! Heck yah so I bought one!

The chip arrived early this week and I eagerly tore my case apart replacing 6 of the hard drives with these two barracudas. I moved about 8 months back and misplaced the tube of AS5 I had laying around. Bummer... but I threw the chip in anyways. using the leftovers from the NW.

Fired it up and <eek> - NEW PROBLEM.

2.6NW
Idle: 42°
100% load: 55°C
Ambient: 31°C

3.4E Prescott - before mod
Idle: 58°
100% load: 80°C+ thermal shutdown!! :eek:
Ambient: 33°C