• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgraded PC w/Loud Fan

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

theGr81

Hi,

I just upgraded me machine with a i7 6700K, ASUS, Z170 - E, G. Skill 16GB DDR4 RAM(2x8GB), Cryorig M9. When I first turned on my machine the fan started making a loud clicking/buzzing sound so I though something was wrong. This is my first time using a after market cooler and I'm scared I didn't use enough thermal paste though I think I used a decent amount. Or maybe I didn't install the fan correctly. Also while adding the CPU I noticed a burning smell, not sure if I was just being self conscious but I've never smell this before. I also noticed some scruff marks on my CPU so though maybe I damaged it. The sound I mentioned was actually from a cable that got caught on the case fan so after I moved it it was fine. My machine has been on now for almost 2 hours and I keep thinking I smell burning but I go up close to it and seems to smell fine.

My CPU at idle is about 30-35C and now I have about 25 webpages open and playing a movie and it is just a tab above that. I keep getting a warning from ASUS software that my CPU fan is going at around 600RPM, is that considered too low or too high, what is a good speed? While typing this the fan notice has come back it seems like the fan is struggling to move and I checked this time and nothing is intruding the fans. I was using HWMonitor and fan seems to be going at around 900RPM. I ran QFan Tuning so it should be at optimal so I'm just wondering is my fan working correctly, at the right speeds? If not what should I change it to? Also my machine is not overclocked and don't think I will OC it but maybe in the future.

The rest of my build that I had:

Antec 300
Samsung Evo 256 SSD
Toshiba 3TB 7200 HD
Toshiba 4TB HD
Asus DVD Burner
Antec 550W PS