• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Video Troulbes SUSE 10-1

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jecenlightened

I have been using Linux for a few months, I generally have no trouble installing Linux, however today is quite different.

I am using Open Suse 10-1:beer: to be exact. The install locked up at the end of the installation setup wizard, when you tell it what type of video drivers/sound/etc you have, I rebooted the system and it worked logged in KDE loads up, but my monitors flash occasionally going black and back to kde, also note both displays have exactly the same output. I cannot change the hardware in SUSE, as it doesn’t list anything under the monitor section. Read on. I have contacted Open SUSE, and I have not gotten any responses concerning this matter. I need to know do I need to reinstall dual boot again with SUSE?

I run dual head because I work with Spreadsheets and Data which helps me through the day. Everything is functioning in Windows, so there is no hardware problems. I want to rid my PC of windows but I need to know I can get SUSE working. Is there any other distro of Linux that would detect my dual head monitors automatically?

I would like to run SUSE 10-1 with dual head on, but with each a separate desktop or something, if that is possible, like with windows my mouse moves from one monitor the next by the edge.

Here is my system specs VisionTek Radeon X1300 / With a second DVI output to a second monitor, I use an Emachine T2605 1024ram Sony DVD RW DL, DVD ROM drive Liteon, REaltek RTL8139/810X combo NIC, integrated sound and video-->which is turned off in the bios.

I guess I need Drivers from what I read online, but where do I find them, and how do I install programs within Suse? Thanks for everyone's support concerning this matter.