• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Voltage question on i7 950

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Steppen_Wolf

Hello, there first time post!

I'm learning a lot about overclocking and just got a new Cooler Master hyper 212 CPU cooler to do some moderate overclocking. My question is that I am able to run a solid overclock at 3.8GHz with a 24 multiplier and 160 Bclock on 1.3v. I have to add almost a tenth of a volt at 1.38v to get my CPU stable at 4GHz which my modest cooler cannot cool well enough as my temps jump up about 20c. My specs:

i7 950 3.8GHz
Asus Rampage iii Gene
900w Rocketfish PSU (I know, I know, reviews are decent though)
300GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
6GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz
2 x Evga GTX 660 ti 2GB sli
Windows 7 Ultimate

Like I said I'm still learning. I have my QPI/DRAM set to 1.4v which doesn't seem to hurt my IOC temps. I tried with v-droop protection both enabled and disabled with no noticeable improvement in stability at a lower voltage. I have left everything else at "auto". Is 1.38v what I should expect to run stably at 4GHz and should I just accept that my inexpensive cooler just can't get the job done or are there something else I can look at?

Any help would be much appreciated, all I know is what I've learned in the past week of trying to figure this out! 'Preciate!

My chip will run at a much lower vcore then yours at 4 ghz, but every chip is different.

4 ghz is a solid overclock for our chips but that is also a hefty voltage to pump through it.