• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Watercooling -Help me build my system!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pamantea

Registered
Hey guys, here is my system right now:
Corsair 600T case
OCZ modxstream 600Watt PSU
Asus Sabertooth Motherboard
i7 950 CPU
Noctua U12P cooler
G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24
EVGA GTX 580
WD 500gig HD Sata3
Crucial 64gb Sata3 (for OS)

I want to Overclock and everything I read seems to say its hard to do in this system. My goals are to keep things quiet and to be able to overclock the CPU a bit higher. It is at 3.8 right now, and would like 4.2. The GTX 580, I dont care to OC yet because I only run 1080 resolution and it will run everything now. I was first looking at the EK 240 kit, but was told it wont fit. I am a complete newbie. Right now my load temps on the CPU with the noctua cooler with prime on after an hour is about 80 Celcius. Thanks!

You're going to need to do some research. Look at the sticky's at the top of the page as they contain a ton of information. Here's a basic run down to planning your system....

Decide what you want to cool. It sounds like you want a CPU and a GPU, so you'll need to determine how many watts of heat those chips are going to put out. I don't have the links handy with me right now, but somebody will chime in here soon I'm sure and point to you where to find out that exact information. For preliminary planning purposes you could probably go with something like 200 watts for an overclocked i7 900 and 300 for a GTX 580.