• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Keep overclocking CPU or maintain the memory speed?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spaft

Registered
Dear everyone,

I'm pretty new to Overclock although have read some threads in this forum for basic OC knowledge. Now I'm Ocing an AMD 1055T with a 1600 memory chip. The question I have is: I'm now at FSB = 245, and my CPU speed it around 3.3Ghz where my memory can run at 1600 full speed. I notice that when I OC my CPU higher, I must lower my memory speed to keep my computer stable. To get to the next set with mutiplier of memory being 5.33 to reach the 1600MHz speed will require a FSB at around 300 which may not be that easy to reach. So I'm wondering if I should keep OCing my CPU or should I stop now to maximize my memory speed? In another word, is a higher CPU speed more important or a higher memory speed?

May be a noob question. Hope someone would like to share some ideas.

Thank you very much in advance!

Don't worry too much about lowering the memory speed; there are diminishing returns in pushing memory clocks higher and higher, while gains from CPU speed increases usually show better performance overall.

The deal is that if you lower memory speed, you can usually tighten the memory timings a little bit, maintaining good performance without having to sacrifice your CPU clock. For a PhenII system, the memory performance difference between, say, DDR3-1600 with 9-9-9-24 timings and DDR3-1333 with 7-7-7-20 timings are extremely small. Actually, you can often times tweak better performance using tighter timings and lower memory clock than with the higher memory clock. So, you're at an advantage by dropping memory clock, increasing CPU clock, and lowering the memory timings most of the time.