• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.4 t-bird

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tactics

First off, I'm a complete utter Newbie. I've read many of the newbie FAQ's and searched around a while. So, please be kind and don't laugh at my stupidity :D !

I recently purchased my new T-bird 1.4 (266). I want to make this bird run faster than my friends computer. (an XP 1700 on an ECS k7vta3, with 512 mb of PC2100) :) computing at its finest :)

The motherboard I currently have is a k7ama (wasn't my first choice but it's what i got.) I purchased an Enermax 350W to power my system. And plan to get proper cooling as well. Comments on the ram I should choose would be appreciated!

Now the nitty gritty....

In order to squeez just an extra 100 hz or so out of my bird, Will i *HAVE* to unlock it or are there other routes that I can take?

Thanks
Tactics :beer:

I'm gonna let my ignorance shine, but i was under the impression in order to increase FSB u must unlock your chip first.

lonewolf1983 said:
all tbird 1.4s come factory unlocked
but fsb will provide a faster system

yea. mine didn't come unlocked either. and the pencil trick has never worked for me either. and using jumpers to set the multi doesn't let me fine tune the fsb as i would like either :( ahhg. i'll just have to wait till the tbred is out before i'll get a mobo worthy of overclocking on. allwell

Xantec said:

yea. mine didn't come unlocked either. and the pencil trick has never worked for me either. and using jumpers to set the multi doesn't let me fine tune the fsb as i would like either :( ahhg. i'll just have to wait till the tbred is out before i'll get a mobo worthy of overclocking on. allwell