• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.92v aircooling with P4 2767MHz(Too Much Voltage??)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
Here's the story I have a P4 1.6A at 2767MHz using 1.92v (actual) and 2.00v in bios. I'm using the Alpha 8942 cooler with a 50CFM Fan. The chip never goes past 55C full load.. The question is this, do you think running this chip at 1.92v is safe? or am I going to kill it within mouths? Does anyone else have a similar voltage with aircooling? and if so what are your temps... What do you think the max voltage should be for air cooling? thanks for listening..
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Overclocker456 said:
Here's the story I have a P4 1.6A at 2767MHz using 1.92v (actual) and 2.00v in bios. I'm using the Alpha 8942 cooler with a 50CFM Fan. The chip never goes past 55C full load.. The question is this, do you think running this chip at 1.92v is safe? or am I going to kill it within mouths? Does anyone else have a similar voltage with aircooling? and if so what are your temps... What do you think the max voltage should be for air cooling? thanks for listening..

I think if it si stable then go with it and cooling temps are within reason. They are on Copper you know. They can take the extra heat and vcore.
 

martinus

Registered
Joined
Mar 10, 2002
Location
Oz
I just wanted to share with you that woofer from ocau has fried a northie at 1.9V - and certainly not through temperature as he is using a vapochill. Bear in mind that you are running a significant increase in terms of percentage, and electromigration is a function of voltage, not temperature.
 

hnic2k

Registered
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Boston, MA
am at 1.82v with my p41.6a temps are 53 load..i need more voltage trying to get to 3Ghz did u use the wire trick?
 
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
I was able to get up to 2.1v without any tricks at all. I have the Asus P4B266 and it has a "special" Test Bios that allows all voltages to be used on a northwood. So I have all settings to my disposal. It's test bios 1006..
 

harlequin

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Denmark
P4B266 and Nothwood

Overclocker456 said:
I was able to get up to 2.1v without any tricks at all. I have the Asus P4B266 and it has a "special" Test Bios that allows all voltages to be used on a northwood. So I have all settings to my disposal. It's test bios 1006..


Where do i get this Beta Bios ???
 
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
HEY harlequin, make sure you unplug your Speaker from your Motherboard because after you pass about 1.85v in the bios setting the speaker will beep, just unplug it before you start.. and remember the bios voltage is never the actual voltage.. use the asus probe for actual readings, for example to get 1.85v you have to set up the bios to 1.92v.. good luck.. lemme know how it turns out..
 

harlequin

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Denmark
P4B266

Hi all. Thanx for the quick replys :)

Im sadly at work right now - so I have to get back to you all with the results. Right now its running [email protected] 1.65V - looks stable enough, but Im eager to get it up to 2600 and and stable....

Installing XP on it - and it went down 2 times once spontanboot and the other with bluescreen. Uncool when installing hehe.
 

pacino

The devil’s advocate
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Location
Where the hottest chicks reside!
Overclocker456 said:
HEY harlequin, make sure you unplug your Speaker from your Motherboard because after you pass about 1.85v in the bios setting the speaker will beep, just unplug it before you start.. and remember the bios voltage is never the actual voltage.. use the asus probe for actual readings, for example to get 1.85v you have to set up the bios to 1.92v.. good luck.. lemme know how it turns out..

luv ya man! lol .. I will see if I can hit 3.5 now! .. I was looking all over for this bios! .. Thanks a million :)
 

jdmcnudgent

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Location
tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!
pacino said:


luv ya man! lol .. I will see if I can hit 3.5 now! .. I was looking all over for this bios! .. Thanks a million :)
you need to read more on the forums, because virtual pc's posted that they had the flash for you like a week ago. good luck at 3.5, and answer you private messages. what kind of power supply do you have?
 
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
You're all very welcome..by the way.. why would you pay $725 for Vapochill to hit 3.1GHz?? isn't spending $725 on cooling a little bit crazy.. I would love to have one myself.. but not for $725.. we overclock to save money?? right? but maybe you have dough and don't care about it, you just wanted 3GHz.. looks good..
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Overclocker456 said:
You're all very welcome..by the way.. why would you pay $725 for Vapochill to hit 3.1GHz?? isn't spending $725 on cooling a little bit crazy.. I would love to have one myself.. but not for $725.. we overclock to save money?? right? but maybe you have dough and don't care about it, you just wanted 3GHz.. looks good..

I always wondered why it was that I OC'd:D Man saving money sure is expensive:D
 

pacino

The devil’s advocate
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Location
Where the hottest chicks reside!
Overclocker456 said:
You're all very welcome..by the way.. why would you pay $725 for Vapochill to hit 3.1GHz?? isn't spending $725 on cooling a little bit crazy.. I would love to have one myself.. but not for $725.. we overclock to save money?? right? but maybe you have dough and don't care about it, you just wanted 3GHz.. looks good..

It's not about overclocking only, the case/cooling system "overall" look awesome :)
 

pacino

The devil’s advocate
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Location
Where the hottest chicks reside!
jdmcnudgent said:
you need to read more on the forums, because virtual pc's posted that they had the flash for you like a week ago. good luck at 3.5, and answer you private messages. what kind of power supply do you have?

oops :) .. I don't think this flash works on P4b266-C .. can't even O/C with 1mhz over 2200mhz LOL! .. I'll check ma Pm's now..
 

harlequin

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Denmark
P4B266 - [email protected]

Hey all.

Gonna stop here. 2600mhz on a northwood 1.8ghz. Mind you I only have the "In-a-box" cooler :)

Thanx for the help guys.

200mb from eating rambus RAM also. It really kicks *** now.
 

hnic2k

Registered
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Boston, MA
Re: P4B266 - [email protected]

harlequin said:
Hey all.

Gonna stop here. 2600mhz on a northwood 1.8ghz. Mind you I only have the "In-a-box" cooler :)

Thanx for the help guys.

200mb from eating rambus RAM also. It really kicks *** now.

should have gone with the 1.6a...always the better Ocer..

score.JPG