• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3060 Ti bios flash

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Masterjuggler

Hey guys, new to the forum. I have an Asus Dual OC 3060 Ti with a dual bios. It has a power limit of 200W with a +8% limit to 218W. As far as I can tell the only difference between the stock bioses is a slight fan curve, so I'm looking to flash a bios from another card with a higher power limit.

Specifically I'd like to flash the bios from the Strix OC to my Dual OC with nvflash. The Strix has the same number of 8-pins (2) but 3 fans instead of 2.

I'm definitely not hitting a power limit wall because I'm using the entire 216W available to me, at 67C under load.

have a few questions before I do anything though, because this is my first time attempting a bios flash:

1) My card has a hardware switch to select the bios. If I corrupt one, can I flip the switch back to the good one, boot, flip the switch again while booted, and flash over the corrupt bios? Or can the switch not be moved when booted?

2) Does it matter if I flash a bios from a card that has a different number of 8-pin power connectors or a different number of fans?

Welcome to the Forum :). As far as changing the switch while powered I do not know(I would not suggest it as the bios loads on boot. Changing the switch I do not think will do anything unless you reboot.). I would however be very careful of what bios you flash. Things like the memory configuration etc are going to be important. As far as the number of fans I dont think this would matter unless the fans are controlled individually.

Z

I don't know why I thought my card has two 8-pins, it only has one. Thought about it after posting and cracked open my computer. So I probably can't safely raise the power limit anyway lol.